Terry Francona and Buck Showalter win Manager of the Year awards

The Baseball Writers Association of America announced the results of the Manager of the Year election on Tuesday evening. Guardians skipper Terry Francona claimed the American League award, while Buck Showalter received National League honors.

While Francona and Showalter are both seasoned executives with decades of experience, they found themselves in quite different situations in 2022. Francona is the longest-serving active manager on one team, having held the position in Cleveland since the start of the 2013 season. Showalter, on the other hand, took over the job in Queens last winter.

The two clubs were also on dramatically different ends of the salary spectrum. Francona was tasked with overseeing a young Guardians roster that was ranked at the bottom of the player roster. Cleveland didn’t go into the season with particularly high overall expectations — at least among those outside the organization and its fan base — but the Guardians ran off with the AL Central in September after a hard-fought race with the Twins and White Sox for the first time. five months. Cleveland finished the year 92-70 to claim their first division title since 2018.

Showalter inherited a roster polar opposite, one with sky-high expectations following an off-season spending spree that produced a number of stars. The Mets ran out of talented teams in the past and failed to reach the playoffs every year from 2017-21. That wasn’t a problem in 2022, as Showalter guided the club to a 101-win season – their first year in triple digits since 1988. The season ended a bit sour, as the Mets were swept in a game-play late in the year. the Braves were determined to blow a division lead that had once exceeded 10 games. Nevertheless, they still feed out to a Wild Card berth.

The voting in both leagues was quite tightly contested. In the AL, Francona defeated Baltimore’s Brandon Hyde and Seattle’s Scott Servais. The Cleveland skipper took 17 of 30 first place votes, while Hyde got nine as he helped the O’s to a surprise finish over .500. Servais got one first place, but appeared on 23 ballots in total, while Houston’s Dusty Baker got three first places, but only appeared on 13 ballots in some capacity. Aaron Boone (Yankees) and Kevin Cash (Rays) also got some support.

Turning to the NL, Showalter tied with Dave Roberts of the Dodgers with eight votes each for first place. He defeated second-place Roberts by 10 nods and appeared on 25 ballots in all. Brian Snitker of Atlanta was the other finalist, receiving seven votes for first place. Oli Marmol (Cardinals) and Rob Thomson (Phillies) also received decent support, while San Diego’s Bob Melvin took third place.

Francona claims the award for the third time in his career. Despite winning two World Series during his time leading the Red Sox, he didn’t claim his first Manager of the Year nomination until he landed in Cleveland in 2013. He won again in 2018, adding a third to his resume, becoming the ninth man in history to do so.

Remarkably, Showalter has won Manager of the Year four times – each with a different team. He had previously picked up the title in 1994 with the Yankees, 2004 with the Rangers and 2014 with the Orioles. Showalter joins Bobby Cox and Tony La Russa as the only four-time winners, and he is the only one to have achieved this with four different organizations.

Full vote split: American League, National League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *